Childhood Revisited

The Daily Prompt:

Sure, you turned out pretty good, but is there anything you wish had been different about your childhood? If you have kids, is there anything you wish were different for them?

There are so many things I wish had been different about my childhood…I have used these wishes to do my best to have my own children not have “issues” with their own childhood. It’s not always easy, and sometimes I fall short of the mark, but I do try!

One thing I remember about my childhood, or, more specifically, my teen years, was not being allowed to go to any school dances. Eventually I convinced myself I had no interest in those dances all through high school, including the prom, but I made up my mind that “someday” I would not hold my own children back in this respect.  And “someday” has arrived…

Just last night, I had the opportunity to make good on my promise to myself, as my oldest teen daughter was invited to her first school dance and I did not hesitate to approve her going to it. What I wish were different for her is my financial situation. My daughter is blessed with very wonderful friends who help her in so many ways, not the least of which was making certain she not only had a ticket to attend the semi-formal dance, but that she had a pretty dress to wear.

6 thoughts on “Childhood Revisited

  1. First of Lyann congratulations on your BA in Legal Studies. Well done !! Lovely photographs of your eldest daughter. I agree with you that the last one is the best of the bunch. Ralph xox

      • I am out visiting blogs now as I have my priorities in my Inbox sorted out and it is working for me. It took a long time, but I am there now and okay with it..
        Your family are really growing up now. :D
        Oh. If I ever need a Perry Mason I will know who to come to ;)

      • Ah, yes, inbox priorities…I have mine sorted out now, as well!
        Yes, all are really growing up now – and it makes me happier than I imagined it would. I really don’t miss the baby or toddler days at all, which surprises me. I enjoy the children all the more as they grow :)
        lol – Perry Mason! My mom used to watch that show. I love studying the law, but I am certain I would not love being a lawyer. It was fun to consider that for a while, but I have much more realistic (for lack of a better term) goals now.
        Congratulations on having things sorted out and working for you now :D

Leave a Reply

