Hello world!

self-portrait

Welcome to my blog!

This is where I’m going to write about the second half of my life, in which I am endeavoring to make up for squandering my youth. Although I try to tell myself I needed all those years and the experiences they contained to make me the person I am today – with the abilities and goals I now have – I remain questioning whether I could have, should have done much better with my time and abilities than I did.

There is no use crying over lost time, so I am gathering myself to take advantage of whatever time I have left, to make the best use of the abilities I might still have to somehow make a positive difference in this world.

I am a Legal Studies student at Kaplan University; I attend classes online. When I complete my Bachelor’s Degree, I will continue on into Kaplan’s Master’s program, to study Applied Legal Research.

a familiar pose: here, trying to make sense of copyright law

My studies have gone much better than I hoped, although I’ve worked hard for my grades; I’m a member of the Golden Key International Honour Society and write articles for my chapter’s newsletter. As I write this, I am set to assume the position of Communications Chair for the Kaplan GK chapter. I’ve also been asked to join the Alpha Beta Kappa Honor Society; however, money is tight and it will be a few weeks until I can afford the membership dues.

Late last year, while researching for a Humanities paper (on happiness, believe it or not) I came across a book by a Hindu guru: Merging with Siva. The chapter I came upon was about preparing for the latter years of life, as well as about death and dying, and the more I read the more I became convinced that what I have believed and how I have understood life, living, and the world is more in line with Hinduism than with Christianity. I began receiving daily e-mail lessons from Himalayan Academy, and two months ago I began formal study of The Master Course with the intention of converting to Hinduism. My husband and I have visited the Hindu Temple north of OKC once, last fall, and tomorrow we are going to return there to at least take photos.

All in all, although money is too tight to mention (as one of my favorite Simply Red songs goes), life is better now than it has ever been. I really no longer regret the past, and I certainly no longer dread the future.

Leave a Reply

