It’s Over

My semester, the children’s school year….and, best of all: Copyright Law (well, technically speaking Intellectual Property).

The past several weeks have been a whirlwind of activity, and my schoolwork took a backseat to all the family activities I did not want to miss. I spent nearly an entire year entirely focused on my studies and so came to allow myself to take a much-needed break from that. I’ve been on hiatus for two weeks now, and I’m ready to face the next 9 weeks, which will be my final semester at Kaplan.

Also “over” is my plan to continue with legal studies at Kaplan; rather than pursue a Master of Science in Applied Legal Research, I am going to pursue a Master of Arts in New Media Journalism at Full Sail University. I will graduate from Kaplan with Bachelor of Science in Legal Studies on August 14th, and begin my (online) studies with Full Sail on August 27th.

I will be eternally grateful to Professor Oz, my Law and Society professor at Kaplan, for “turning me on” to the possibilities of the media in its many forms to communicate about law and society. I owe a debt of gratitude, as well, to Alexis Sclamberg, my Legal Philosophy professor, who believed unswervingly in my ability to persevere even through a lengthy illness; to Professor Beth Palmer for introducing me to the concept of “being an infinite person”; and to Professor Jill St. John, who inspired me to begin blogging.  I may still eventually attend (Concord) law school, but for now my focus is completing the coming semester with as much gusto as I have applied to my studies this past year, and then stepping into a new and exciting field of study at the end of the summer.

Begin today. Declare out loud to the universe that you are willing to let go of struggle and eager to learn through joy. (Sarah Ban Breathnach)

Leave a Reply

