Determination

“Determine never to be idle… It is wonderful how much may be done if we are always doing.” — Thomas Jefferson

If this video doesn’t make you want to get up and move, I don’t know what will!

♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

“Why do I keep the faith, to your distant heart?” (Hold On (Vicetone Extended Edit) – NERVO

Sometimes, life seems to border on the absurd, and so it seems for me this week.

I would like, very much, not to have to wake to another day of pain, of wishing I could really skate again, of wondering if surgery really is necessary…

I would like, very much, to have peace in my household – not to have the incessant arguing that seems to have become the ‘norm’ for the children I love so dearly, the children I fought so hard to have returned to me…not to have arguing, especially, over stupid XBox games.

I would like, very much, to be able to make sense of my new school, my new coursework – what I thought would be the foundation for the beginning of a new life for me and my family.

I would like, very much, most of all, to be as active in real life as I am in my mind.

∞ ∞ ∞ ∞ ∞ ∞ ∞ ∞ ∞ ∞ ∞ ∞ ∞ ∞ ∞ ∞ ∞ ∞ ∞ ∞ ∞ ∞ ∞ ∞ ∞

“I can’t break away…I can’t make this stop”

At this moment, my MP3 player is missing – it’s really my one link to the (really) active life I so miss. I’ve told the children to look for it – I often let them use it, and it’s not me who was the last to use it….and what’s up with thinking I need to help look for it?

At any rate, I am frustrated with the chain of events that has led to having to cancel my next surgery (was to be 2 days from now), and I am frustrated with the coursework I so long looked forward to.

I could say I’m looking forward to skating tomorrow – I am scheduled to be at the rink tomorrow – but that would be minimizing my frustration with my current limitations. Yes, I am grateful I can skate at all, I am grateful for so very many things…but there are, admittedly, many things I am struggling with.

At the very least, I can say, MP3 player or not, I will be skating tomorrow – I may not be able to jump or spin, but as skating coach Lauren Keeley says, ““The glide never disappoints, it’s always there waiting. Some days, it’s not our best performance, but the glide is always there..”

Here’s to us all, gliding through life!

Trust only movement.  Life happens at the level of events, not of words.  Trust movement.  ~Alfred Adlerx
Leave a Reply

